i ate girl scout cookies for dinner tonight.

March 14, 2010 at 11:04 pm | Posted in struggling | 2 Comments
Tags: , ,

Thin Mints. 1 point per cookie. Tagalongs.  4 points per 2 cookies. Lemon Chalet Cremes.  2 points per cookie.

(points courtesy of http://www.dwlz.com/WWinfo/girlscout.html)

Other things I’ve eaten this week?  Chipotle Salad, On the Border Beef Enchiladas, Panera Pick Two, Red Robin Turkey Burger, and a mild binge Friday night of low point items and a Tysons breaded chicken patty.

Needless to say, this week isn’t perfect.

I am a creature of habit and I know myself well enough to know that I am most successful when I am in a routine.  I started the week out of routine by the simple fact that I did not grab a paper POINTSTracker when I weighed in.  I thought that tracking online using eTools would be just as effective and plenty of people swear by it.  I also thought it would be something good to keep things new and exciting.  However, it failed miserably for me.  I like being able to carry the paper POINTSTracker in my purse.  I love to just write my meals/points down and forget about it.  I hated fiddling with my Blackberry, which sometimes has browser problems, and more importantly I hated feeling tied to the computer.  I also had a lease issue arise that caused an enormous amount of stress and pressure, which culminated into a binge session Friday night as I turned to my old friend food for comfort.  I got on the scale this afternoon, another bad habit that I’ve resisted so far this time around, and it showed a very tiny loss, which usually would have sent me into an even bigger binge and that would have followed with skipping the meeting and the journey would be as good as done.

“It’s the third week!,” I kept telling myself and then the feelings of guilt started.  But then I stopped and thought about last week’s meeting where the leader started talking about resilience.  Then I thought about all the people I’ve heard contribute in the last two meetings about their struggles.  One woman got her mother to join and gained the week she brought her.  Another man had been holding on strong for several weeks and was THRILLED that he didn’t gain since he plowed snow during our blizzards.  It made me feel better to know that I’m not alone.  Yes, it’s the third week on the program.  But really it’s like the 50th week given how many times I’ve joined/re-joined.

So I had the GS cookies hidden from me and I went to the grocery store and got a week’s worth of good foods.  I also sat down and did meal planning so that I would have WW friendly meals to eat this week.  Yes, this is my third week this time around but this is also going to be the third week on the last time around.  Here’s to a good week!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You have a great lookout for the week ahead which will no doubt only make it better!! It’s all about the mindset – and hiding the cookies helps, too! I have to really limit myself on sweets or else I end up eating a whole bag of cookies in one sitting (yes I really did that once!)

  2. Way to go on planning your meals this week! That sometimes is half the battle 😀

    Happy Monday!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

